Litomysl Organ Model

Litomysl Organ Model
Litomysl Organ

Litomysl is a lovely town in eastern Bohemia, practically at the border with Moravia. It is widely known as the birthplace of one of the most prominent Czech composers: Bedrich Smetana (1824-1884). Although he was celebrated as a pianist and a composer of opera as well as of orchestral music, he left some minor pieces for organ too (6 preludes, 1 fuge, 1 choral). 

Further back in history, it is recognized for its renaissance castle where the original baroque theatre is preserved and still in function. The summer festival takes place there every year under the name "Smetanova Litomysl".

The Organ in the Church of the Holy Cross

Little is known about organs in the Church of the Holy Cross in those early times. There was a late baroque instrument by Frantisek Pavel Horak (1723-1822) built in 1780. It had two manuals and a pedal with alltogether 22 stops.

Later it was rebuilt completely in 1902 by Josef Kobrle (1851-1919). The old organ purely baroque in style seemed not to meet the fasion of the early XXth century. The Kobrle's instrument beared signs of "romantic" or symphonic organ which was desired at those times. It had also 2 manuals with 22 stops as the previous instrument but the brilliant aliquotes and high mixtures were replaced by lower sounding stops of many different colors: flutes, strings, reeds.

Hundred years later, the ways of evaluating the organ qualities have changed again. We now admire the brilliance of the baroque sound, we love the logic of the hierarchy of the WerkPrinzip but at the same time we do not want to loose the variety of romantic coloring stops. Hence, many organbuiders tend to favour large organs with great diversity of stops to satisfy the needs of all musical styles. Well, the purity of style is lost but the advantages of the "universal" organ seem to prevail.

Having this in mind, Vladimir Grygar (whose company is well known in many countries of the world for its craftsmenship) built completely new organ in the church of the Holy Cross. The work has been finished only in 2001. The new instrument has 4 manuals and 51 sounding stops (not counting couplers and other helpers).

Features and Screenshots

  • Hauptwerk v.3.30 and higher supported.
  • samples available in 24-bit/48kHz format
  • wind model support
  • realistic tremolo samples
  • realistic enclosure effects
  • programmable crescendo pedal
  • user-adjustable voicing of individual ranks to enrich the timbre variability of the organ stops
  • user-adjustable detuning of the celeste ranks
  • Multiple loops: Each sample has at least 3 loops (up to 7 loops in some samples) to ensure variable playback.
  • blower noise and tracker noise support - user adjustable
  • photorealistic console
  • individual ranks may be used to form various subsets or to build different organs from the sample material of Litomysl 
  • 30 fully programmable combinationpistons
  • Multiple releases - 3 levels for each stop (improved staccato behavior), courtesy of Al Morse.
  • New Trumpet imperial 32 feet in the bottom octave (was 16' before)
  • Dual Touchscreen support
  • improved denoising - about 18 dB better noise floor
  • many voicing corrections to individual pipes
  • completely new ballancing of the divisions and stops
  • redesigned Cornet on the Bombardwerk
  • redesigned swell box behavior
  • improved tremulant behavior, including completely new design of
    the tremulant LFO's.
  • new crescendo design: the stops drawn manually are not switched off
    when the crescendo is increasing.


  • 64-bit Windows system is necessary.
  • Dual core processor or better.
  • screen resolution at least 1280x1024 pixels.


  • full sample set loaded in 16-bit:  5.66 GB.
  • full sample set loaded in 20-bit: 7.53 GB.
  • full sample set loaded in 16-bit, but the 16' + 8' + 4' stops in 20-bit for increased quality: 7.10 GB. This is the recommended way of loading the sample set if your computer has altogether 8 GB of RAM, so as enough room is left for the OS itself.



the console page the wind page the crescendo page the voicing page
Console wind cresc voic
the left stop jamb

the right stop jamb

Left Right



I. manual (Hauptwerk, Grand Orgue)

Bourdon 16'
Principal 8'
KonzertFlöte 8'
Gamba 8'
Gemshorn 8'
Oktave 4'
TraversFlöte 4'
Quinte 2 2/3'
Oktave 2'
GrossMixtur 2'
KleinMixtur 1 1/3'
Enge Trompete 8'

II. manual (Positiv)

Copula maior 8'
Salicional 8'
Prestant 4'
Copula minor 4'
Oktave 2'
Quinte 1 1/3'
Sesquialtera I-III
Acuta IV
HolzKrummhorn 8'

III. manual (Schwellwerk, Récit)

Contra Salicional 16'
Geigenprinczipal 8
Lieblich Gedackt 8
Aeoline 8
Voix Céleste 8
Principal 4
Gemshorn 4
Nazard 2 2/3
Waldflöte 2
Terz 1 3/5
Sharf V 1
Vox Humana 8
Oboe 8

IV. manual (Bombardenwerk)

Trompeta imperial 32' (bass octave 16')
Trompeta magna 16'
Trompeta real 8'
Trompeta Chamarrant 4'
Great Cornett VI 8'




Subbass Clausus 16'
Contra Viola 16'
Salizetbass 16'
Quintbass Apertus 10 2/3'
[= Bass Acoustique 32']
Oktave 8'
Rohrgedackt 8'
Cello 8'
Superoktav 4'
Bourdonant 4'
Mixtur V 2 2/3
Posaune 16'
Bombarde 8'


  1. Litomysl Dry and Wet Bundle

    Save 28% compared to the standard price.


    Excl. Tax

    Detail & order

    Original price: (excl. tax)€404.00
    Special sale (28%):
    - €113.12
  2. Litomysl Dry Sample Set

    Litomysl organ virtual model, only the Dry variant.


    Excl. Tax

    Detail & order

  3. Litomysl Wet Sample Set

    Litomysl organ virtual model, Wet variant only.


    Excl. Tax

    Detail & order